Better

1 Jun

Tonight was a good reminder: it’s easy for me to keep people away and judge them from a distance. Once I get close and actually let myself be around people, I am almost always surprised that I have under-calculated their complexity and desire to live a good, intentional life.

I hope this awe, the sense of wonder At the beauty and goodness of humanity never changes. I hope I get better at remembering its there.

I had a good night spent laughing and talking with a cousin. I never would have guessed we would become equals, friends. But now I find myself turning to her. It’s good. My brother even stopped by.

I never expected my family to be such a good family. I expected us to continue drifting as adults. It turns out we turn toward one another. We learn from each other. Our differences benefit us.

I am sad. I am hurt. But I believe that humanity is good. And I feel lucky to have my family. Starting this weekend with warm feelings.

4 Responses to “Better”

  1. caracaleo June 2, 2012 at 12:14 am #

    This is beautiful

  2. caracaleo June 2, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    Reblogged this on caracaleo.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Re-Blog on the Amazing Aspects of Things – http://joysticksandpearls.com | Caracaleo - June 2, 2012

    […] http://joysticksandpearls.com – Blog Link Tonight was a good reminder: it’s easy for me to keep people away and judge them from a […]

Leave a Reply

